Useless

I was in the supermarket this afternoon, for weekly grocery shopping.

I was looking at some breads and croissants, when suddenly a boy-with 5 euro bills on his hand-approached me and called me.

“Meneer!”

“Ja?”

“Ik adaldh klalfhalhfl  lkfhalhflahf alskfhalfhal lafsdfowe? (speaking in Dutch)”

Here’s the thing, I think he asked about the price of the breads, or maybe he asked me to pick some breads for him since he’s still too short to pick by himself. But I didn’t know how to answer, well, to be fair I didn’t really understand what he said :| .

My respond was just shrugging and said, “I don’t know…”

adam-lallana-liverpool-1

Gosh, I feel so useless, even I can’t explain simple thing like that to kid -_-. Luckily there were two ladies who want to buy breads as well. So the boy turned to those ladies as I didn’t give him expected respond.

Well, I realised that being foreigner here in Netherlands, I rarely have a chance to speak Dutch, except basic cashier-chat in the shop or supermarket. Even them (the cashiers), just like most people here, switch to English when they see doubt or nervousness in my face. I guess that’s OK for teenagers or adults, but that doesn’t work with kids. I recall that when I played badminton with my friends, suddenly three kids came in and playing around with unused rackets and shuttlecocks.

I wanted to explain them how to play it, but I didn’t know how to tell them ^^. In the end I just gave them example and tried my best to explain in silly-sounded-Dutch-mixed English ^^.

So, I think it’s better to learn local language if you live in a place whose language unfamiliar to you, even if they can communicate with you in another common language. To be fair, I know that’s quite obvious. I write that just because I want to put something here for closing this post.😛

3 Responses to “Useless”


  1. 1 TamaGO September 26, 2016 at 14:46

    maybe the default response should be Ik kan niet spreken Nederlands lol
    but even if you know the language, talk to locals can be challenging. When i went to Singapore and ask direction, they hardly understand my question😦. And when they finally get it and explain the direction to me, i am dumbfounded and just nod while pretend to know what they say

    I don’t find many difficulties with Malaysian or Australian, so maybe my ear just not used to Singaporean english accent

  2. 2 pgracekn September 26, 2016 at 20:09

    Yeah, I feel pretty stupid around Reika’s friends who came to me and started talking to me. Even child language I barely can understand =_=

  3. 3 Daaaarttthhh November 27, 2016 at 11:27

    I suggest you to play and listen carefully the mumbling in the start of The Dress Codes’ Ningen

    That’s even English for me –‘


Leave a Reply

